The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility

Coming Soon

Airs at: Sat, 11/17/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Hosted by: 
Produced by: 
KBOO
Subscribe to podcast

 

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility

Every Saturday from 2:00pm to 5:00pm.

Post modern representations of improvisation, across dramatic modes, and re-imagined spaces of diverse music genre. Hosted by The Motif, aka Yugen Kelsaw.

Streams: 
KBOO Stream 1
Program status: 
Current

Crusading the Tradition: Music of The Jazz Crusaders

Airs at: Sat, 11/10/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
After dropping 'jazz' from their official name, The Crusaders ventured a blending of  R&B music with Jazz motifs. The result is soulful, syncopation infused with a street wise blend of urbanity and hipness. And like Cannonball Adderely, The Crusaders sensibility  validated ... Read more

An Anomaly: The Jazz of Grover Washington, Jr.

Airs at: Sat, 11/03/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Nearly 3 decades since his passing. Yet his music and influence remain a central element in today's landscape. Known for his soulful approach Mr Washington chose feeling over technique, though he mastered both. Tune in Read more

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility on 10/27/18

Airs at: Sat, 10/27/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility on 10/20/18

Airs at: Sat, 10/20/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility on 10/13/18

Airs at: Sat, 10/13/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Burt Freeman Bacharach

Airs at: Sat, 10/06/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
 Hailed as a hybrid of Adult Contemporary music through a jazz perspective. The music withstands the passage of time with vision, and a remarkable melodic imagination. A testament to musicianship, and human experience. Tune in Sat, October 6, 2018 from 2pm to 5pm. Burt Fre... Read more

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility on 09/29/18

Airs at: Sat, 09/29/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility on 09/22/18

Airs at: Sat, 09/22/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm

A Tribute to Aretha Franklin

Airs at: Sat, 09/15/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Music Critic Rick Mitchell will present a tribute to the queen of soul: Aretha Franklin  Read more

The Motif: Re-Imagine a Jazz Sensibility on 09/08/18

Airs at: Sat, 09/08/2018 at 2:00pm - 5:00pm